About the Council

The Caribbean Examinations Council was established in 1972 under Agreement by the Participating Governments in the Area to conduct such examinations as it may think appropriate and award certificates and diplomas on the results of any such examinations so conducted. The Council is empowered to regulate the conduct of any such examinations and prescribe the qualification requirements of candidates and the fees payable by them.

The Composition of the Council

  • The Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies; 
  • The Vice Chancellor of the University of Guyana;
  • Three representatives of the University of the West Indies appointed by the Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies, regard being given to the geographic dispersion of the campuses;
  • One representative of the University of Guyana appointed by the Vice Chancellor of the University of Guyana;
  • Two representatives appointed by each of the Participating Governments of Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad & Tobago and one representative appointed by each of the other Participating Governments;
  • One representative of the teaching profession appointed by each National Committee from among its members.

It comprises 16 Participating Territories, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and The Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago and Turks and Caicos Islands.

Members of the Council hold office for a period of three years. The Chairman and Deputy Chairman are elected from among the members of Council to hold office for three years or for the unexpired term of their appointments as members of the Council. The Council organises its business on a triennial basis, using the calendar year as its operative year.

The Registrar and Pro-Registrar 

The Registrar is the Chief Executive of the Council and the Council may delegate to him any of its duties relating to the holding of examinations and the appointments of staff members other than himself or the Pro-Registrar. The Registrar is based at the CXC Headquarters in Barbados and the Pro-Registrar is based at the CXC Western Zone office in Jamaica.

Committees of the Council

Policy is determined by the Council which meets annually. The work of the Council is conducted through the Administrative and Finance Committee (AFC), the School Examinations Committee (SEC) and its Sub-Committee (SUBSEC).