CXC Timeline

Grades I and II are recognised

Grades I and II are recognised as equivalent to GCE O’Level A, B and C grades by the University of the West Indies, the University of Guyana, the Joint Matriculation Board of the UK and admissions offices in the United States and Canada 1980)

New subjects are added

Six new subjects, Agricultural Science, Office Procedures, Principles of Business (POB), Principles of Accounts (POA), Spanish and Typewriting are added to the examination subject offerings

CXC introduces regulations

CXC® introduces regulations to accommodate re-sit candidates for subjects with SBAs (1980)

First set of examinations

May/June, the Council conducts its inaugural examinations for CSEC® in English, Geography, History and Mathematics at General and Basic Proficiencies and Integrated Science as a pilot subject (1979).  Thirteen of the fourteen Participating

Stats and figures

Thirty thousand, two hundred and seventy-six (30, 276) candidates entered (1979).  Fifty-eight thousand, seven hundred and eight (58,708) subject entries are received for the first examination (1979).

First Marking

July 16, 1979 first marking exercise is started in Barbados and Jamaica with 337 markers involved (1979)

Common Entrance

CXC® processes Common Entrance results for Grenada and St Lucia (1979)

Official Name

The term Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate(CSEC®) approved for the Council’s certificate (1976)

Subjects approved

The School Examinations Committee (SEC) approves syllabuses for Geography, History, Mathematics, English and Integrated Science (1976)

First Examinations

Council decides to conduct the first examinations in 1979 in Mathematics, English, Caribbean History, Integrated Science and Geography (1975)

Western Zone

The Western Zone Office becomes operational (1974)

Agreement signed

The signing of the Supplementary Agreement in 1973 creates an Administrative and Operational Centre (AOC) in Jamaica called the Western Zone Office (1973)

First Council Meeting

The Council holds its first meeting under the Chairmanship of Dr (later Sir) Roy Marshall, Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies in Barbados (1973)

The Agreement Establishing the Council

The Agreement Establishing the Council is signed in Barbados by the governments of 15 English-speaking Caribbean territories (1972)