Celebrating CARICOM Day

Celebrating CARICOM Day

CARICOM Day is observed annually on 4 July, the anniversary of the signing, by the founding Member States, of the original Treaty of Chaguaramas. The Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) is an integral member of CARICOM and joins in celebrating CARICOM Day.

The Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC) was established by Agreement among English-speaking countries of the Caribbean in 1972 to conduct such examinations as it may think appropriate and award certificates and diplomas on the results of any such examinations so conducted.

The Council comprises 16 Participating Countries – Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Barbados, Belize, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Montserrat, St Kitts-Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago and the Turks and Caicos Islands). There are three External Territories – Saba, St Maarten and Suriname.

With over 40 years of experience, CXC is the established regional leader in the delivery of world-class examinations and certification services with a commitment to preparing the Caribbean for evolving global demands. CXC offers a comprehensive suite of qualifications to meet the educational and human resource needs of the region:

Caribbean Primary Exit Assessment (CPEA) – a competency-based assessment of achievement at the primary level

Caribbean Certificate of Secondary Level Competence (CCSLC®) – a qualification designed to equip all secondary school students with the knowledge, generic competencies, attitudes and values that all secondary school leavers should possess.

Caribbean Vocational Qualification (CVQ), a competency-based approach to training, assessment and certification.

Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC®) – the gold standard of secondary education achievement

Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE®) – the post-secondary advantage

The CXC Associate Degree (CXC-AD)

Happy CARICOM Day!