St Kitts and Nevis Hosting CXC Governance Meetings 2017

St Kitts and Nevis Hosting CXC Governance Meetings 2017

The Federation of St Kitts and Nevis will be the host of the 2017 governance meetings of the Caribbean Examinations Council (CXC). The annual Council Meeting, CXC’s highest decision-making body will be held on Friday 15 December at the St Kitts Marriot Resort under the Chairmanship of Professor Sir Hilary Beckles.

The meeting of the School Examinations Committee (SEC) will be held on Thursday 14 December at the same venue. On the night of Thursday 14 December, CXC will present awards for outstanding performances in the May/June Caribbean Advanced Proficiency Examination (CAPE), Caribbean Secondary Education Certificate (CSEC), and the Caribbean Certificate of Secondary Level Competence (CCSLC). The CAPE and CSEC School of the Year will also be presented to principals of the two schools. Two new awards will be presented: The ACCA CAPE Business Studies Award and the RM Results CAPE Mathematics Award.

Honourable Shawn Richards, Deputy Prime Minister, and Minister of Education, Youth, Sports and Culture will deliver the feature address at the awards ceremony. Premier of Nevis, Honourable Vance Amory; Sir Hilary Beckles, CXC Chairman; Mr Glenroy Cumberbatch, CXC Registrar; and Most Outstanding CSEC Candidate Overall, Michael Bhopaul will also speak during the ceremony.

This year’s awardees are from Barbados, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, St Kitts and Nevis, and Trinidad and Tobago.

A contingent comprising the regional top awardees and a CXC team will arrive in St Kitts and Nevis on Monday 11 December to pay courtesy calls on some of the Federation’s dignitaries.  On Tuesday, the delegation will pay courtesy calls on Governor General, His Excellency Sir Tapley Seaton, and Dr, the Honourable Timothy Harris, Prime Minister.  On Wednesday, the delegation will pay courtesy calls on Honourable Shawn Richards, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Education, Youth, Sports and Culture, and the Right Honourable Dr Denzil Douglas, Leader of the Opposition.

On the afternoon of Tuesday 12 December, the delegation will visit the sister island of Nevis during which Premier Vance Amory will host the delegation for lunch. The delegation will also visit the Charlestown Secondary School, the home of several former regional top awardee including the 2002 CSEC Overall Regional Top Award Hrishikesh Joshi.

St Kitts and Nevis last hosted the CXC governance meetings in December 2002.