You are here


What is CVQ?

The Caribbean Vocational Qualification or CVQ as it is commonly called, is based on a competency based approach to training, assessment and certification. Candidates are expected to demonstrate competence in attaining occupational standards developed by practitioners, industry experts and employers. Those standards when approved by CARICOM allow for portability across the Region. Currently, CVQs are planned to reflect a Qualification framework of five levels. These are

  • Level 1: Directly Supervised/Entry –Level Worker
  • Level 2: Supervised Skilled Worker
  • Level 3: Independent or Autonomous Skilled Worker
  • Level 4: Specialized or Supervisory Worker
  • Level 5: Managerial and/or Professional Worker

CVQ’s are awarded to those candidates who would have met the required standards in all of the prescribed units of study.

Statements are issued in cases where candidates did not complete all the requirements for the award of CVQ.

Schools that are suitably equipped currently offer Levels 1 & 2.